Track Of The Day(s) : (3/26) Led Zeppelin – Hey Hey What Can I Do (3/27) The Black Crowes – Non-Fiction (Mean Fiddler) Live November 1994 London England (Throwbacks)


I didn’t have the patience to put in a track of the day for yesterday.So here are yesterdays and today’s.Also I haven’t really been feeling any new music lately so here are 2 of my favorite songs.

***3/26***

Led Zeppelin – Hey Hey What Can I Do

“Hey Hey What Can I Do” is a song by the English rock group Led Zeppelin released in 1970 as the B-side of “Immigrant Song” outside the United Kingdom. It is Led Zeppelin’s only non-album track released during the band’s existence. It did however appear on the Atlantic Records UK various artists LP, The New Age of Atlantic, released in 1972. The song was first released on CD in October 1990 on the 4CD Led Zeppelin box set collection. In 1992, “Immigrant Song”/”Hey Hey What Can I Do” was released as a “vinyl replica” CD single. In 1993, “Hey Hey What Can I Do” was included on The Complete Studio Recordings 10 CD boxed set, as one of four bonus tracks on the Coda disc. The song is not included on the individual version of Coda. In 2007 Led Zeppelin released the track online along with the rest of their back catalog. The song was also released as the B-side of the “Stairway to Heaven” 7″ 45 RPM picture disc.

The lyrics tell of a man’s love for a woman who ‘won’t be true.’ The first verse is a declaration of his love and his desire to tell her that she is the only one for him. The second verse describes her infidelity and his jealousy and frustration. In the third verse he comes to the conclusion that he must leave her ‘where the guitars play,’ a sentiment reinforced by the vamp in which the lead singer, Robert Plant, is backed by the rest of the band repeating the two lines ‘Hey hey what can I do’ and ‘Oh no what can I say.’ Read More

Led Zeppelin
Hey Hey What Can I Do
Lyrics

Wanna tell you ’bout the girl I love
My she looks so fine
She’s the only one that I been dreamin’ of
Maybe someday she will be all mine
I wanna tell her that I love her so
I thrill with her every touch
I need to tell her she’s the only one I really love

I got a woman, wanna ball all day
I got a woman; she won’t be true, no
I got a woman, stay drunk all the time
I said I got a little woman and she won’t be true

Sunday morning when we go down to church
See the menfolk standin’ in line
I said they come to pray to the Lord
With my little girl, looks so fine
In the evening when the sun is sinkin ‘ low
Everybody’s with the one they love
I walk the town
Keep a-searchin’ all around:
Lookin’ for my street corner girl

I got a woman, wanna ball all day
I got a woman; she won’t be true, no
I got a woman, stay drunk all the time
I said I got a little woman and she won’t be true

In the bars, with the men who play guitars
Singin’, Drinkin’ and rememberin’ the times
My little lover does a midnight shift
She followed around all the time
I guess there’s just one thing a -left for me to do
Gonna pack my bags and move on my way
Cause I got a worried mind
Sharin’ what I thought was mine
Gonna leave her where the guitars play

I got a woman, she won’t be true, no no
I got a woman, wanna ball all day
I got a woman, stay drunk all the time
I got a little woman and she won’t be true

(Hey, hey what can I do)

I said she won’t be true

(Hey, hey what can I say)

Hey, hey, what can I do
I got a woman she won’t be true
Lord, hear what I say
I got a woman, wanna ball all day.

***3/27***

The Black Crowes – Non-Fiction (Mean Fiddler) Live November 1994 London England

I was never big on The Black Crowes.I just thought Chris Robinson was some just a one hit wonder that wore stupid fucking hats.And even though I thought She Talks To Angels was a great song it didn’t make me a fan.Then I heard this song and that all changed.The Black Crowes have a pretty great catalog and are a talented bunch of dudes.I give them credit for just doing their own thing musically also.Plus its pretty amazing that it is all their own talent and they didn’t have to make a deal with the devil for their soul.Cause you know damn well Chris Robinson saved the Lucifer card to pull Kate Hudson’s fine ass.But anywhoo.Non Fiction is a great song.I just think the version they recorded for the album and the version they recorded live for the live album lack the soul of this version.You can find some other great and rare live performances of The Black Crowes Here

Black Crowes
Non-Fiction
Lyrics

I don’t know my telephone number
But you kiss good and I’d like to see you tomorrow
And I don’t beg, I pay, I don’t barter
If we had a child I’d like a son, not a daughter
No she’d be just like you you know that would not do

I’m no builder, I’m no gardener I sing some songs
Have a friend who’s a photographer
There ain’t no other language I know how to speak
Some like their water shallow and I like mine deep so very deep
Tied to the bottom with a noose around my feet

Clouds conspire above my head
I overheard them say I wish he was dead
Today the sunset burned my eyes
In the next room I hear someone cry

I like to dress up like the jury
To eat like a king, to poke fun at clergy
To talk like dirt to love you like tar
But never fall in too fast with my north star, no no no
While you pull your hair out I buy the drinks at the bar

Clouds conspire above my head
I overheard them say I wish he was dead
Today the sunset burned my eyes
In the next room I hear someone cry

This entry was posted in Music/ Audio/ Video and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

