Video: BBC Originals – The Revolution Will Not Be Televised A Film About Gil Scott-Heron (Full Length Documentary)


In my opinion one of the best documentaries made on one of the best performers of our century.Besides being biased that Gil Scott Heron is one of the greatest poets/performers ever. This is a really well put together documentary and I was lucky to run into it.Originally aired on the BBC in 2004, The Revolution Will Not Be Televised: A Film About Gil Scott-Heron features contributions from disciples such as Chuck D and Mos Def as well as music from his career stretching back over 20 albums to the early ’70s.Shout out to the character who uploaded it.

Part 1

Part 2

Part 3

Part 4

Part 5

Part 6

Uploaded by RBGzRapFreeStyleChan on Jul 27, 2009

Gil Scott-Heron (born April 1, 1949) is an American poet, musician, and author known primarily for his late 1960s and early 1970s work as a spoken word soul performer and his collaborative work with musician Brian Jackson.His collaborative efforts with Jackson featured a musical fusion of jazz, blues and soul music, as well as lyrical content concerning social and political issues of the time, delivered in both rapping and melismatic vocal styles by Scott-Heron. The music of these albums, most notably Pieces of a Man and Winter in America in the early 1970s, influenced and helped engender later African-American music genres such as hip hop and neo soul. Scott-Heron’s recording work is often associated with black militant activism and has received much critical acclaim for one of his most well-known compositions “The Revolution Will Not Be Televised”. On his influence, a music writer later noted that “Scott-Heron’s unique proto-rap style influenced a generation of hip-hop artists”.
http://www.gilscottheron.com/GILINTRO.htm

This entry was posted in Film/ Television, Music/ Audio/ Video and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Video: BBC Originals – The Revolution Will Not Be Televised A Film About Gil Scott-Heron (Full Length Documentary)

  1. Pingback: Gil Scott-Heron (April 1, 1949 – May 27, 2011) « Global Fusion Productions Inc

  2. Brilliant!
    Many thanks for sharing.

  3. Jahah says:

    Very nice documentary on Mr. GSH! Gil was and will always be relevant. God rest your soul Gil Scott Heron (R.I.P.)

    • I agree.He has and will carry on musically and throughout his poems.He is has what most artists can only dream about accomplishing,which is a legacy of greatness.

      RIP

      Thank you for the comment.

      Peace & Blessings

  4. I used to see Gil Scott perform locally in a long gone local bar in Sunderland Mass in the 70s – have 3 albums — yes albums — what a wonderful reminder of a gifted and highly underrecognized artist and thinker.

    • I still can’t get over it myself.I mean yea you kind of knew he would go out soon considering.But it still doesn’t stop impact when it does happen.And that most of been pretty awesome to see him live like that in such a comfortable space.I unfortunately missed most of the shows he did when I got into him.Either because he never showed up or I missed out.Back in 2001 he did a show in NYC and I thought he was doing two sets so I arrived early for the 2nd and he ended up just doing one long one.So I listened from outside SOB’s in NYC cause they weren’t letting anyone else in 😦 He sounded great though lol.Luckily though this past summer I saw him live in Central Park and he killed it.It was a great time 🙂 I remember a group of us were suppose to go and everyone was dilly dallying and I said fuck it and hopped the train solo up to the show and met a good friend and his wife.I wasn’t going to wait.At the time I just got diagnosed with a liver problem and seeing Gil perform was on my bucket list.Luckily for me my liver is is getting better,Unfortunately though Gil passed.So I am truly blessed to see my favorite artists Live in a beautiful place like Central Park 🙂

      Thank you for sharing your story and visiting the site.

      Peace & Blessings

      T

  5. Lady Elix says:

    Thanks so much for sharing this. If you get a chance, check out GSH’s Black Wax Museum directed by Robert Mugge. I was luck to get this DVD before his transition,If you getthe DVD, its going for over hundred bucks on Amazon (rip off). I wish it was available in stores and on-line for a cheaper price. Hate it when retailers taking advantage like that.

    Didn’t get a chance to see him last year. I was out of town, 😦 But glad that you took the chance to see him without your homies. I know they’re kicking themselves for not going.

    When you get a chance check out my tribute mixes. One I created as a b-day tribute before his transition and one after. http://www.whosthatladymusicshow.blogspot.com

    Stay well

    Lady E

Leave a Reply

