Track Of The Day: Olu Dara – Jungle Jay Featuring Nas (Throwback)

Photobucket
Olu Dara – Jungle Jay Featuring Nas

Great track to glide into a smooth Saturday from a crazy Friday.I’m surprised at how many people never heard this before.This is a great spoken word piece by Nas.He paints an awesome picture on NY on this track.Plus its great to see a father and son collabo while making great music.I was lucky enough to hear this randomly on the radio from The Night Train on WKCR back in the day.I found out later it was Nas’s father.And that he played on Illamtic also.I like Jazz so I bought the album.I dug it.It made me a fan.I remember running into Nas at a Hot 97 event during The I AM days.I was talking to Angie Martinez while my boy was trying to unsuccessfully kick it to her.It was a non alcoholic event and we snuck in some E&J(Erk and Jerk).As I tuned my head and get the bottle out of my coat I bumped into Nas.After proclaiming it a My bad situation. I started chopping it up with with him.Dude seems like a really cool humble type fellow.And the funny part is I got the illest ice grills I’ve ever gotten out of jail.From some chicken head groupies when I asked him about his pops .Cause a lot of people at the time didn’t know his pops was a musician and probably still don’t even after Bridging The Gap.The funny part is I could tell the chickens felt I was ruining their game on Nas by bringing up his family.Long story short we bullshitted awhile and guess I did actually ruin their game.Before Nas left he actually thanked me for getting him out of the conversation with the groupies(they were beer goggle type broads)which lead way after a pound to quick exit from the bar for him .I seen him a few times shortly after that and he actually remembered me from buying his fathers album.Which was cool.Hopefully I wasn’t the only person he met that did though.

But here is a little info on Nas’s father….

Olu Dara Jones (born Charles Jones III, Natchez, Mississippi, 12 January 1941) is an American cornetist, guitarist and singer.
Olu Dara first became known as a jazz musician, playing alongside avant-garde musicians such as David Murray, Henry Threadgill, and Art Blakey.
His first album under his own name, 1998’s In the World: From Natchez to New York, revealed another aspect of his musical personality: the leader and singer of a band immersed in African-American tradition, playing an eclectic mix of blues, jazz, and storytelling, with tinges of funk, African popular music and reggae. His second album Neighborhoods, with guest appearances by Dr John and Cassandra Wilson, followed in a similar vein.

Nas (Nasir Jones) is Dara’s son. He encouraged his father to record the music he was playing with his band, and guested on “Jungle Jay” from In the World. Dara played the cornet on the track “Life’s A Bitch” from Nas’s debut album Illmatic in 1994 and on the song “Dance” from God’s Son, a posthumous tribute to Anne Jones his former wife and Nas’s mother . In 2004, his vocals and trumpet were featured on Nas’s single “Bridging the Gap”, and the title track from his album Street’s Disciple. The song “Poppa Was A Player” off The Lost Tapes was inspired by Nas’ childhood times around Olu Dara.

He was given the name “Olu Dara,” which literally translated means “God is good,” by a Yoruba priest when he returned to America. Dara has traveled throughout Africa and Europe.Dara is also an accomplished playwright and actor, staging Blues Rooms to strong acclaim in New York City and Fairfax, Virginia during the 1990s.
For more info:
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Olu_Dara

***Bonus***

Nas – Bridging the Gap Featuring Olu Dara

Olu Dara – Your Lips – Live On NPA

Olu Dara performs your lips en direct à NPA (French TV Show)

This entry was posted in Music/ Audio/ Video and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

