Vinia Mojica – Black And Blue (Bootleg) (2005)


Vinia Mojica is a singer from Queens, New York, best known for her collaborations with the Native Tongues collective and other hip hop artists.

Her recording career began in 1989 with the song “Acknowledge Your Own History”, from the Jungle Brothers’ 1989 album Done By the Forces of Nature. It would be the beginning of her association with the Native Tongues Posse – which would produce De La Soul’s 1991 hit “A Roller Skating Jam Named “Saturdays”” – and continue with A Tribe Called Quest and later with its second generation of Mos Def, Talib Kweli, Hi-Tek and Common.

Mojica also made numerous appearances on Heavy D’s album Nuttin’ But Love (1995) and his 1997 single, “Water Bed Hev”; collaborated with French hip hop group Alliance Ethnik in 1995 and 1998; and made guest appearances on albums by Heltah Skeltah, Rahzel, and Pete Rock. Outside of hip hop, she has also recorded and performed with Mary J. Blige, Youssou N’Dour and Arto Lindsay, as well as downtempo artists like Cibo Matto, DJ Spinna, and, in 2005, Jneiro Jarel. In 2002 Mojica collaborated with French electro artist DJ Mehdi (credited as Espion) on “Anything Is Possible”, a track later remixed by Château Flight.

In 2003 Mojica finally released her debut single, “Guilt Junkie” (with the B-side “Sands of Time”), and is currently preparing her solo debut LP on Fruitmeat/Giant Step Records.

Here is a bootleg compilation of some of her work someone pieced together thats been floating around the net for a few years.Shes truly a gifted singer in my book and hopefully one day she might actually release a album.Till then

Vinia Mojica – Black And Blue (Bootleg) (2005)

01. On My Way Ft. Talib Kweli (Prod. Hi-Tek)
02. Sands Of Time (Prod. Ge-ology)
03. 5 Heures du Mat Ft. Alliance Ethnik (Prod. Prince Charles Alexander)
04. Anything Is Possible (Prod. DJ Mehdi)
05. Force Of Nature (Prod. The Saint)
06. The Sun God Ft. Common And Hi-Tek (Prod. Hi-Tek)
07. Mind Blowin’ (Prod. Pete Rock)
08. Guilt Junkie (Prod. Ge-ology)
09. Get Ta Steppin’ (Prod. Hi-Tek)
10. Idols (Prod. DJ Spinna)
11. Carbon Copy Ft. Rahzel (Prod. Scott Storch)
12. Climb Ft. Mos Def (Prod. DJ Etch A Sketch)
13. Big Bounce Theory Pt. 2 (Prod. Jneiro Jarel)
14. KOS Determination Ft. Black Star (Prod. Hi-Tek)
15. Party Up Ft. Wildchild (Prod. Madlib)
16. The Blast Ft. Talib Kweli (Prod. Hi-Tek)

08. Guilt Junkie (Prod. Ge-ology)

12. Climb Ft. Mos Def (Prod. DJ Etch A Sketch)

Download Entire Compilation Here:

This entry was posted in Music/ Audio/ Video and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s